Pollution Incident Response Management Plans

The Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997 (the Act) establishes the NSW environmental regulatory framework and includes a licensing requirement for certain activities. Hunter Water holds numerous Environmental Protection Licences (EPL) under the Act. Further information and details on Hunter Water's EPLs is available from the pollution monitoring section of this website.

In accordance with the Act, Hunter Water has prepared 17 EPL specific Pollution Incident Response Management Plans (PIRMP) detailing the procedures to be followed in the event of pollution incidents in each area of operation. PIRMPs have been produced for the following wastewater or water systems (EPL number shown).

  • Branxton WWTW (1680)
  • Clarence Town WWTW (13250)
  • Dungog WTP (2863)
  • Dungog WWTW (4197)
  • Karuah WWTW (10230)
  • Kearsley WWTW (3232)
  • Kurri Kurri WWTW (1767)
  • Paxton WWTW (3755)
  • Tanilba Bay WWTW (4435)
  • Balickera Canal (5346)
  •  Raymond Terrace WWTW (217)
  • Farley WWTW (733)
  • Boulder Bay WWTW (358)
  • Lake Macquarie Sewerage system (1771)
  • Cessnock WWTW (227)
  • Morpeth WWTW (10693)
  • Newcastle Sewerage System (1683)

In accordance with section 98D (2) of the Protection of the Environment Operations (General) Amendment (Pollution Incident Response Management Plan) Regulation 2012 (the Regulation), a plan is to be made publicly available on a publicly accessible website for the information required under Section 153C (a) of the Environment Protection and Operations Act 1997 (the Act) and Clause 98C (1) (h) and (i) of the Regulation.

The Incident Response Management Plan summarises Hunter Water's numerous PIRMPs to meet the above requirements.